What's new

Best Shave Towel?

I am rather new to wet shaving and I have quickly decided that my ultra-soft and poofy face towels do not perform very well as a shaving towel. I generally shave at night, so I have been trying to use a hot towel to soften my beard and I have found that the aforementioned poofy towels soak up WAY too much water and do not transfer the heat to my face very well. Also, when wiping my razor off while I am shaving, it gets lost in the poof.

I was wondering what the best type of towel is to use for a shave towel. I have looked on Amazon and various other online places and there are a plethora of different types of towels. Tea towels, dish towels, spa towels, etc... I know the obvious answer is a "barber towel", but looking at those online, they appear to be pretty poofy.

I am, of course, looking for something relatively inexpensive.

Thoughts? Experiences?

-Howard

I've found that the cheap, thin, terrycloth 'rags' that they sell at Home Depot/Lowes work quite well for me. The upside is that if they get bloody, you don't feel bad about bleaching them, or chunking them after you've used them to clean the sink up one too many times.

i use a generic wash cloth. i wet my face in the shower, then shave. i only use the wash cloth to wipe the face with warm water, after shaving, leaving it wet. then i'll use the alum block, let it sit for about a minute, then wipe with cold water. finishing up with an after shave. i usually change the wash cloth after 3-4 shaves.

there's always a plan B.

I got some nice towels at Sally's Beauty Supply. They also sell Pinaud products, Barbicide, and a limited supply of DE blades.

barber supply stores sells the towels fairly cheap:

$Screenshot 2017-01-25 at 4.23.18 PM.png

strop

Now half as wise