What's new

Anyone feel that they get a better shave with a cart?

I feel like I do get a better shave. Perhaps I am missing something? Maybe I'm just not good with a DE but I experience a closer more comfortable shave with a cart razor. Wondered if I was alone in this feeling?

I am fairly new to DE shaving (2 Months), and I find that if I take my time and concentrate on what I am doing then I get a better shave with my DE. However, if I am in a hurry that morning and need a good shave that I had better use a cartridge as my technique is still a work in progress with the DE.

I can get a good shave with a cart. It doesn't last nearly as long as my shaves with a D.E. Razor. I also get a lot of satisfaction from achieving BBS shaves with one hundred year old gillette razors.

If that is what works best for you fine.

I can get as good a shave in a fresh, 1 - 3 day, cart in my Gillette Sensor Excel but after that - DE for me.

In fact rocking it with a Slim on 6 at present and vintage blades I'm not sure if that is even true!

For years I used a cart with the barbasol canned foam and my neck was covered with bumps and redness for half the day.
It is not happening with my current d.e. wet shave routine.
I am paying more attention & face prep is much more a part of my shaving method, I may give the cart or disposable a shot after my current bout of gear acquisition syndrome has subsided.....

Yes, I get a better shave with a cart. I have actually sold all of my DE razors. Taking a chunk out of my lower lip a couple of months ago was the last straw. It was at that moment that I was done with DE's. Not only are carts easier to use, my shaves are closer and more consistent with far fewer nicks and weepers.

I'm still using my creams and brushes though.

Compared to a DE, I do get a better shave with carts typically. With straights I get a much better shave than with carts.