What's new

An intersection of obsessions. Advice appreciated!

Gents, I can no longer deny it: I am obsessed with all iterations of tobacco. E-cigs, Cigars, Pipes... I can no longer call myself a dabbler. This leaves me with a conundrum- where the heck am I going to put all this stuff?! M'love is a vehement anti-tobacco crusader, but she tolerates my enjoyment if she doesn't have to see it or the paraphernalia. My collection of cigars, pipe tobacco, and the like is quickly outgrowing the dresser drawer I have been stashing it in. To that end, I concocted a plan, with which I could use some of your sage advice:
In addition to being a tobacco fiend, I am also a semi-professional woodworker and tinkerer. Most of my furniture is self-made (if not elegant:blushing:), and I own hardly anything that has not been "modified" in my basement workshop of horrors. Knives, rifles, car parts, bicycles... I like to tinker! Well, I have a large leather-bound steamer trunk that has so far eluded my experiments. I just couldn't think of anything to do with it... Until now. A humidor, the likes of which I can be proud! It already has a nice air-tight seal and locking lid. The walls are thin, but it smells inside of cedar. I could install a rack system, a hygrometer, perhaps even a hermetic "dry chamber" for E-Juice and... Wait a second. I don't know the first thing about humidors:confused1. To that end, I have the following questions:
1-From reading the BL Essentials Sticky, I'm seeing I will need Spanish Cedar planks to line it with. Is this the same as the red cedar I see at home improvement stores? If not, will red or white cedar work, provided it is untreated and unvarnished? I would think that tongue-and-groove cedar planks would make it very easy to line it adequately.