What's new

Am I missing out?

Hello gentlefolk,

I’m quite new to wet shaving and only have the brush that comes with Supply’s kit (I may return the razor / kit in general since I prefer the Rockwell 6C). I’m wondering how do these kit synthetic brushes compare to other synthetic brushes? Say a Trafalgar (or beyond that, Muhle or EJ STF)? Is ignorance bliss? Am I missing out by using this brush?

Separately, I’m also considering trying out a badger brush.

Thank you and cheers to your next shave.

The Muhle/EJ STF are one of my favourite synthetic ever, the brush behaves just like a badger, the gentlemen I got the brush from told me once you use it you will never like any other synth and he wasn't wrong. Just a beautiful brush, I have the 23 mm v1.

As for badgers I would suggest first buy some inexpensive ones like yaqi, being cheap doesn't mean they are garbage. Absolute bang for the buck brushes, then you can decide if you like badgers or not.

Cheers
Rohan

If you don’t mind a smaller brush, I highly recommend the Simpson’s Special in Best or Pure Badger. The Best is about $35 and the Pure about $25. I have both and they are excellent brushes and a great intro to a quality Badger.

for synthetics, I really like Yaqi and Semogue. I can’t comment on the Trafalgar as my T1 and T2 are still on their way from the UK.

Thank you all - so should I take it that the "kit brush" from Supply is not in the same league in terms of experience and usability to some nicer synthetic brushes or even a mid-tier badger?

I’d kindly like to disagree that just because one thing is working for you, you aren’t missing out. Much of this hobby is about experiencing things for ourselves...you won’t know if you’re missing out until you try something and find out.