What's new

After the fourth SR shave

So, i just finished my fourth SR shave. The first one was awful—pulled on my beard and just wasn’t comfortable. I wasnt sure what the issue was, so posted on here and made adjustments. I experimented with the angle, better stropping and wetter lather. All helped quite a bit and I’ve only had the tinniest nicks, so generally am pleased with my progress. The shave is shockingly smooth even after one pass.

Two questions on the smoothness/comfort of the shave. It still doesn’t feel anywhere nearly as comfortable as my DE shaves. I used my safety razor to clean up a few lines and notice that the shave is smoother, seems sharper and more confortable. The SR still has a slight pulling sensation and my skin sometimes feels a little raw. No redness and very few nicks—just a general burning feel for part of the day. Do you think that’s because the blade isn’t sharp enough? I’m more than willing to admit it might be technique (I’m a newbie, for sure!).

The SR is a Gold Dollar 800. I bought it at Wet Shaving Products, and is supposed to be shave ready. Anybody had good luck with them? I’ve read positive reviews of them and am more likely to believe it’s my technique over the razor. Just wondering if it’s worth sending to another place to get honed and checked just to make sure it’s me and not the blade!

Try this. Do a first pass DE knockdown then finish with a couple passes with the SR. See if that helps. :a4:

I have no experience with the Gold Dollars, so I won't pontificate.

Possibly not sharp enough. Get a finishing stone and dress it a bit. I believe shave ready blades rarely are, though they’re very close. I think some vendors may be afraid of getting them too sharp. I have no idea about how Gold Dollars come.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

probably technique and perhaps the edge has slightly degraded because of technique. always good to have a second reference razor.