What's new

Anyone feel that they get a better shave with a cart?

I used a Trac today. "Made in Israel" cartridge. DFS with a single pass, zero irritation and no sting with the alum block.
I used Arko soap, and finished with REWE aftershave balm.

I have just bought a mate at work a 1965 slim and gave him one of each of the blades from my collection and within 2 shaves he is now a massive convert. This is way better than any cartridge but as everyone says the results will only come if you can master the technique !! :thumbup:

I have just bought a mate at work a 1965 slim and gave him one of each of the blades from my collection and within 2 shaves he is now a massive convert. This is way better than any cartridge but as everyone says the results will only come if you can master the technique !! :thumbup:

I have been wetshaving for over 30 years, both cartridges (mainly Trac) and traditional (G2000, Schick Krona).

I would dare to say that I have enough technique to get a great shave with a cartridge, thank you.

I've tried the Gillette Fusion, Gave me a fairly decent shave but no way near a BBS. They are ok if your not retired and are late for work. I keep a 1 shave toss away in a draw in case I'm late for a Dr. appointment, also to mention that Gillette (Proctor & Gamble) charges $42,+ for just 12 cartridges compared to $12.00 for 100 Crystal blades lasting about a year.
Maybe if one had a light beard, and didn't mind spending the cost of cartridges, then maybe Fusion cartridges and a can of shaving soap is the way to go. But as for me I'll stay a die hard DE shaver getting a BBS every morning.
Denis:001_smile Happiness is a BBS

When I want an absolute BBS shave (which I normally don't), a DE razor with a sharp blade (Feather!) works best. Three passes with some touch-ups and my face feels super smooth.