What's new

Sportcoat/Blazer help

Like switching from those overpriced cartridge razors to DE. I must have saved thousands (of old razors that is)!

Yup. You pay for quality on the front end, but it saves you money in the long run. How many of us have had a closet full of worn out economy sweaters or casual jackets that have gone hideously out of style? Get a good wardrobe of quality basics and you'll save yourself the annual trips to Goodwill.

Doc4

Stumpy in cold weather
Staff member
As Giorgio Armani put it "buy less, just buy better. In the end you'll spend less money.".

Like switching from those overpriced cartridge razors to DE. I must have saved thousands (of old razors that is)!

:001_unsur

... I never had AtracartridgeAD. Or FoaminggooAD.

(The one problem about the "buy less but buy quality" theory is ... dang it, the quality stuff is addictive, it's so good. I have several overstuffed closets that tell me I'm not too good at that 'personal spending restraint' thing ... )

:001_unsur

... I never had AtracartridgeAD. Or FoaminggooAD.

(The one problem about the "buy less but buy quality" theory is ... dang it, the quality stuff is addictive, it's so good. I have several overstuffed closets that tell me I'm not too good at that 'personal spending restraint' thing ... )

Start with a checklist and allow yourself to deviate from it only slightly. Once you have a professional wardrobe that works, it is a lot easier to look at that $1000 coat and say "It's nice, but does it really work with what I've got?". The answer is, surprisingly, "no" most of the time.

How about a suggestion for a good place to locate a tweed sport coat? I'm interested in adding one to my wardrobe, but don't know where to start.

Checked the internet for the site I mentioned before which features British tweeds. Look for Bookster and/or Tweed-Jacket. Should give you some ideas.

Ok, so I've ended up with a dark navy blue sport coat with gold buttons.