What's new

Thinking about getting a Japanese straight

I don't own one, but I have a small variety of English, French, and German.
Can anyone recommend one (or more) that has good steel at an affordable price?

EclipseRedRing

I smell like a Christmas pudding
I am no expert on straights but I have a Derby Aiku made by Matsukura in Tokyo; it is an excellent shaver, easily keeps a keen edge, and by the standards of Japanese straight razors is very affordable. I suspect all Japanese straights are made with good steel.

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
I don't own one, but I have a small variety of English, French, and German.
Can anyone recommend one (or more) that has good steel at an affordable price?
What is your budget?

The cheapest SR of Japanese steel (ground and finished in Taiwan) is about USD 30 not shave-ready + shipping from Hong Kong. For ones ground and finished in Japan, there is no upper limit.

What is your budget?

The cheapest SR of Japanese steel (ground and finished in Taiwan) is about USD 30 not shave-ready + shipping from Hong Kong. For ones ground and finished in Japan, there is no upper limit.
Are these vintage blades or new?
Is there new quality straight being produced i Japan (not counting Iwasaki kami)?
If yes, were are they sold?

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
Are these vintage blades or new?
Is there new quality straight being produced i Japan (not counting Iwasaki kami)?
If yes, were are they sold?
They are new blades - blanks made and heat-treated in Japan. Many are put off because they are not expensive and finished (ground, scaled and "honed") in Taiwan.

I don't know what new SR's are being produced in Japan. They would probably be beyond my pay scale.

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
Around $100 (or less), maybe? Would that get me something decent?
If you want something fully produced in Japan, new or used, I think you would need to go to USD 200 or more for anything reasonable.