What's new

Newbie needs help choosing straight razor.

Hello. After about a month of researching I've narrowed down my choice of first "real" SR to these 4. Are any of these poor choices? Which are the best choices? I'm new to straight razors but not to wet shaving. I'm afraid to pull the trigger without some advice. ANY and ALL advice greatly appreciated! Thanks.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20210306-153353_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20210306-153353_Chrome.jpg
    317 KB · Views: 67
  • Screenshot_20210306-153448_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20210306-153448_Chrome.jpg
    371.2 KB · Views: 69
  • Screenshot_20210306-153651_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20210306-153651_Chrome.jpg
    298.1 KB · Views: 70
  • Screenshot_20210306-154907_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20210306-154907_Chrome.jpg
    264 KB · Views: 68
Welcome to B & B. I would suggest you either purchase #1 the Thiers Issard or # 3 the Kastor. Both of those are full hollow. The TI is 6/8 the Kastor 5/8, not an earth shattering difference.
#2 is a cool looking blade but a near wedge grind , which will not give you much feedback against your whiskers.
The first 3 will definitely come from Griffith shave ready. The 4th from the knife place probably will not be shave ready which will disappoint your experience I’d never having used a straight before.
I hope this helps. Good luck!

Welcome to B & B. I would suggest you either purchase #1 the Thiers Issard or # 3 the Kastor. Both of those are full hollow. The TI is 6/8 the Kastor 5/8, not an earth shattering difference.
#2 is a cool looking blade but a near wedge grind , which will not give you much feedback against your whiskers.
The first 3 will definitely come from Griffith shave ready. The 4th from the knife place probably will not be shave ready which will disappoint your experience I’d never having used a straight before.
Thank you sir.

If you decide to get the Grelot send it out to be honed by someone reputable for a solid baseline of how it should and can be.