What's new

Feather artist club SS straight razor tips

Hey everyone I’m getting my Feather SS non-folding in tomorrow. I’ve never used a straight razor before but I’ve been using Saftey razors for a while with no problems. I would like some advice and tips. Also I need a new brush and would like some recommendations on that as well as the best shave cream or gel for this feather.

Congratulations! The Feather SS is a great razor!

I hope you remembered to buy blades for it.

Just take it slowly. Keep the blade angled at about a 30 degree angle and always try to keep sight of where you are shaving. It’ll take a lot of practice to get the good shaves you get with your other safety razors, but I’ll happen eventually! Open blade razors are very satisfying to master.

What brush and soaps are you using currently? Most will work just fine for open blades, you just need the lather a little slicker.

Thanks for tips GearNoir! Also yes I bought the Feather Pro guard blades. I’m using a travel sized Art of shaving brush, I use Proraso green or Cremo .

I feel I must strongly DISagree with the advice given above. Sorry to say that.

I advise keeping the razor as flat as possible on your face, especially with the Pro blades. Pretend you're tickling your face with a real Feather, such is the lightness of touch you will want. Or imagine you are just trying to scoop lather only from your face.

I would actually recommend a traditional straight razor with a round point for your entry into straight razor shaving. The Artist Club blades are around an order of magnitude more sharp than a typical straight razor, and therefor far less forgiving.

As for lather, I recommend lathering the same way you would for a DE. Slicker lather works better for a traditional SR IMHO.