What's new

Yaqi Silvertip (how does it compare with other silvertips)?

I have been using Yaqi Silvertip 24mm brush for about 2 months, it's my first badger brush, and I like it a lot.
Since I have nothing to compare it with, I would like to hear your opinion, how does it compare with other, higher price and higher end silvertip badgers? Also is it really a silvertip or it's something else sold as silvertip?
IMG_20230924_200423.jpg

if you lkikec your brush what is the problem you embassies because it is not a $200.00 BRUSH? Being sort of minimalist, I do not buy designer much. Functional products work, but you can not brag about have a SUPER HIGH PRICED BRUSH.

lasta

Blade Biter
After so many years, there still isn't a widely accepted standard on what a silvertip is!

The hairs on your brush look mighty fine, I'd take their word on it.

As for price and quality, I don't think there is a direct correlation. I had a Shavemac 2-band silvertip, it had the exact same hairs as my Classic Shaving Super Badger. The Classic shaving brush is packed more densely and had an easier splaying fan shaped design.

I ended up selling the Shavemac because the CS is a better brush at 1/5 the price.

Last edited:
It's pretty difficult to tell by picture, yours could have Super Badger equivalent hair. It looks similar, but different shaped, to my Zenith 3 band and thats a moderate priced brush. I wouldn't be surprised if it was at least that good, but really... lathering is the only way to be sure! Somebody that has more brushes would have to try it or you pick out a brush that you know you like the look of in the moderate range and see if it's better or worse. Unfortunately, or not, if it's worse then you can just keep using this brush and maybe pick up another.

Ron R

I survived a lathey foreman
I have been using Yaqi Silvertip 24mm brush for about 2 months, it's my first badger brush, and I like it a lot.