What's new

My first brush: Yaqi Lucky Dice Tuxedo or Yaqi Tuxedo Sagrada familia?

Hell everyone. I am new to wet shaving (2 and a half months in) and so far I have been using a cheap supermarket brush that I bought for about 3 euros. While the brush has served me well so far and I could feel the benefit of using a brush right from my first shave, I feel like it's time for me to up my brush game and get my first decent shaving brush.

I have narrowed it down to synthetic brushes for several reasons, and I am torn between these 2 Yaqi brushes. The first one, is the Yaqi Lucky Dice Tuxedo with a 26 mm knot, and the other one is the Yaqi Tuxedo Sagrada familia with a knot at 24 mm.

I just can't decide between the 2. While like the appearance of the Sagrada familia since it's a more classic-look brush, I can't neglect the 26 mm knot that comes with the Lucky Dice. I should note that I don't have a big face and I bowl lather my soap and creams in my small plastic Omega lathering bowl.

Do you have any experience using both brushes? Which one of the two would you recommend? Should factor in the knot size as well given my face and bowl size?

P.S. I have also considered the Simpson Tralfagar line. Although it's a little more expensive than I would like to spend on a brush at this point, if the quality difference is significant I would like to consider this option as well (either the T3, T2, or the T1). I would love to hear any recommendations. Thank you all in advance!

There are several fans of Yaqi here, and surely some who have both brushes and can share their experience but for my money I would rather support a company with more integrity. Yaqi’s copy cat tendencies leave a bad taste in my mouth. Simpson have been around a long time and their Trafalgar brushes are well loved.

Ron R

I survived a lathey foreman