• Stick - Use Soap Sticks & Apply to Face

Votes: 5 5.2%
  • No Consistent Method as it Varies Depending on Soap & Brush

Votes: 10 10.4%

• Total voters

nemo

Lunatic Fringe
Staff member
A newbie here. So you have the brush bristles wet and the puck is dry before you put the brush to it.... correct?

I've only used Williams puck and on one of the main Williams threads they recommend soaking the puck while you shower which I have done to this point. But I'm about to try some other puck brands which are on the way so I'm guessing the soaking goes out the window and you just load the wet brush from the dry puck?
Yes, a pretty wet brush. Not dripping wet but not squeezed or shaken.
I don't soak pucks -- I've tried it and sometimes they get mushy. Or crack.
But when you use the same soap for a good period (weeks) it's moist from the day before.

I use as little water in the brush as possible to get the soap to load. For a really hard soap like MWF that takes a little wetter bristles, but for softer soaps I will shake out as much water as possible and just get the damp tips of the brush loaded with pasty soap from the soap in the container -- then paint the soap paste onto my face and alternate dipping the tips of the brush in water and back to face multiple times until the lather has taken on enough water. I try to keep the soap loaded at the tips of the bristles and don't work the soap down into the knot while I'm loading and/or face lathering.

I am pretty much a cream user (at least 25 tubs). I put a dollop inside my Captain's copper bowl and with a wet brush, I swirl the brush 3-4 times in the bowl and then face lather.

I'm still sort of finding my legs when it comes to soap, which I'm now using almost exclusively over creams.

My preferred method is to shave or grate down a soap puck into a mug, add hot water, and let it sit overnight. This form-fits the soap to the mug and I build lather in the mug.