What's new

Who travels with coffee?

Coffee in the hotel room is out of the question.

The stuff from the "free" breakfast is usually worse.

I'm a operations engineer in the oil field, so I'm sitting out in some field all day in a van...I've at least trained the guys to at least rinse the coffee pot once a month or so (don't laugh, it is an improvement). This also rules out finding a good local place since I'm normally in the middle of nowhere.

Big thermos: I'm set.
Beans: I'm a home roaster, so my supply remains pretty good.
Brewing: perhaps one of those pour over deals and an electric kettle.

That brings me to the grinder. One of those hand grinders? Those Zassenhaus (sp?) grinders with the wooden box are fantastic, but I think that might make the kit a little too big. A whirly blade? Bite the bullet and, gasp, grind coffee for the week before I leave out? Any body have a travel coffee 'kit' and willing to share some ideas?

I use a small perk pot to boil water and use a # 6 filter cone into my thermos.
I do grind at home as a "best option" but if I traveled more I would add a small whirlybird grinder.

I too travel a lot but no where as remote as you do. Although recently I had the luxury to be in Beeville TX :tongue_sm (not much going on there.) Getting good coffee and tea is always a challenge while away from home. I have considered carrying a coffee or tea kit with me as well. Since coffee does require fresh beans (you have that covered) that is freshly ground I do not see any way around packing some kind of grinder.

The only reccommendation I can make is to consider converting to quality whole leaf tea while you are away. All you need is a strainer and really hot water.

I do.

I take a whilry blade grinder with me unless I'm traveling for work (in which case, good coffee is usually not difficult to come by).

I generally will carry a #2 Melitta pourover with filters along with ziplocks of pre-dosed whole bean coffee.