What's new

Remove the chlorine from the water before making coffee.

Ron R

I survived a lathey foreman
I use Brita water filter off the tap and it works OK if you want a nice cup of coffee of tee with out a chemical taste or scent. In the spring time in Alberta Canada the Municipalities and cities add more chlorine to water for safety concerns from spring time river run offs so at the end of the tap water that is exhausting is their greatest concern goal after that it is up to owners of homes to make it better if possible.
I have been using Brita for about 15 years and it works good enough and change the filter every 4 months.
The Brito tap base unit I have to replace on average about every 16-24 months it seems, the price I pay for quality water.
There is a cheaper Brito version similar to this unit, the photo shown model works the best & lasts longer IMO.(reason I took the picture if folks are interested!)
Brita water filter 3.jpg

Have a great day!

Sounds like a lot of trouble. In the morning, I want my coffee ASAP. I load my drip coffee maker with coffee and water the day before. In the morning, all I have to do is push a button. By the time I go to the bottom of the driveway and back to get the paper my first cup is ready. I don’t want any complexity added to this routine.

Sounds like a lot of trouble. In the morning, I want my coffee ASAP. I load my drip coffee maker with coffee and water the day before. In the morning, all I have to do is push a button. By the time I go to the bottom of the driveway and back to get the paper my first cup is ready. I don’t want any complexity added to this routine.
Here's how deep the well of complexity has gotten for me.

1. Roast the coffee
2. Prepare a gallon jug of reverse-osmosis water with added potassium and magnesium
3. Grind right before brewing
4. Heat French press by running hot water into it
5. Add to French press. Fill 1/3 with water