What's new

Who knew?

Back in the teen years I got a free Mach 3 razor when I graduated junior high school (get em early Gillette!). I distinctly remember my first shave before going to the 8th grade graduation party. Everything went smoothly as I recall...I can even remember the cheap aftershave I found under the counter. My dad used an electric so I was on my own...trial by fire.

Years rolled on, been clean shaved, goatee’d, full beard, even went with hillbilly chaw slide for a while. Always been pretty lazy and just used clippers to clear the jungle. Good enough...

Well I moved to Japan and saw at a flea market this weird razor with gears on the side. What the heck is this thing? I picked it up to go next to my ship lanterns and blow torch. I started looking into it a little and found it was an autostrop. Weird thing...takes special blades...oh well. Then I remembered seeing double edge razors for sale at the pharmacy here. Who knew the Japanese still support the classics. I checked and they also had the necessary Feather blades for the Autostrop. Huh. Turns out their made here. Well...what the heck...why not.

Got some budget gear from the pharmacy (brush soap etc) and some blades and set out for the mirror. Sporting a 2 week growth I went straight to it.....

To be continued....

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Huh....don’t seem to be able to edit.

All this is new to me....

I lather up with some powdered kind of soap and a brush that felt more like a house painting brush than something for my face. Load in a blade a hit the strop...seeing the blade flip flop is kinda cool. Went slow and steady making sure it flipped before continuing. After about 10 flip-flops and we ready to begin.

Let’s do this.

(Sound of sand paper on a wash board)

Well. That was rough and jarring. I’ll chock that up to inexperience and a heavy growth. Next passes were much better. Overall no cuts or burns. I gave my face a couple days rest.