What's new

What did I just get myself into?

Let me preface these comments by saying I'm a SR newbie and have never even looked that them in person before.

So, a few weeks ago, I'm in a Antique mall and saw a Straight for $10. I look at it and notice it has a cracked scale so I pass on by. When walking back out after looking around for a while, I see a sign that the things in that display cabinet is 50% off. So, it's a $5 SR. I look at it more closely and it is a German blade, so I figured that's a good thing. It wasn't very rusty (looks like just a bit of surface rust) and didn't have any chips or cracks in the blade that I could see. Also, didn't have much of a smile, so I decided to pull the trigger.

I get it home and the first time I opened it, the scale cracked again. It must be extremely brittle.

Anyway, here are the pics.

On one side, it appears to say: Max Dorner Solingen, Made in Germany. It also has the # 64 and a logo.
The other side says: Best Silver Steel, Extra Hollow Ground.

So.. I have no clue what I got. Just wondering everyone's thoughts. I'll be looking for someone to re-scale/restore it as well as someone to hone it and get it shave ready. I'll probably have to go to Whipped Dog to get a starter kit with a strop and stuff. I also have a ton of videos to watch so I can learn how to use a Straight.

Any more details on it would be greatly appreciated.

Looks like it should hone and shave well once you get it some new shoes. There is a seller the bay with precut black walnut scales for pretty cheap, and if you give him the measurements, he will drill it to your specifications.

The scales I had him make for me weren't bad, but there must have been a miscommunication or something, because the pin holes were just barely off.