What's new

Vintage soaps

I have been wet shaving for many years so I have used quit a few shaving soaps. For years I alternated between Shulton Old Spice and Yardley's Lavender. I still have and enjoy Old Spice soap. Recently I discovered a box of old shaving products that I have not used in a number of years and were, quite frankly, forgotten. Among the soaps I rediscovered were Franklin's Barbershop in a few scents, an unused OS round, Avon Gentlemen's Regiment, Surrey, and a new Seaforth mug and soap.

I really enjoy some of the vintage soaps which for the most part still have some scent left. Most, if not all, contain tallow and are excellent performers. Don't get me wrong, I very much enjoy some of the current offerings, but some of the vintage soaps were very good. I would be interested in hearing from some of you who also enjoy some of the vintage soaps. I am sure that you will have many that I have not listed.

Best regards,

Doug

Pictures! Pictures! I'm just getting into vintage soaps. I've always wanted to, but just never got around to really hunting and paying for them. Old Spice is on my list, but it's going for $30 a puck, and I don't want to pay that. I have a vintage La Toja Manantiales, and I'm expecting some Colgate in the mail.

I have a puck of vintage Williams (Cranford, NJ, 1977-82 somewhere) that I snared on eBay for a more reasonable price than what they're going for today. It makes great lather, but the scent is gone, and it left my Turkish horse hair brush Nr. 7 smelling a bit funky. I now use the Williams with a TGN synthetic knot which rinses out much better. There was a puck of Old Spice listed on eBay a while back, new in the cellophane wrapper, and by a seller who agreed to local pickup, as he was just a few miles away. Bidding ended in the $28-30 range, however, which is far beyond my range.