What's new

Truefitt and Hill Rose first trial

To get started I’m not an expert by any means. I just enjoy wet shaving and I’ve been trying a variety of products over the last couple years. My current go-to brand is Truefitt and Hill. I don’t know why, but I get such a superior shave from TH vs say TOBS. I know this is a subjective thing but based on my personal technique, skin/hair type, and the blades I use TH gives me a much smoother shave. Maybe I’m not using enough water with TOBS but I get too much irritation and no BBS.

Moving on.. Today I tried TH rose for the first time today. My first impression of the scrent was not positive. TOBS rose has a very pleasant scent but TH when lathered has a very strong scent that seems to have a hint of fingernail polish remover to my nose. I’m usually over the moon for most TH scents, but the rose while it’s lathered hits me the wrong way.

Using my go-to Rapira Platinum blade, performance was superior as expected. The performance same as all TH cremes that I’ve tried. Soft and slick lather, BBS shave on 3 passes. I lather inbetween passes VS some just add water to the face bringing the residue of the first lather back to life. This might be the difference I’m seeing on TH vs TOBS.

Post shave was great and the rose scent on dry down is much better than during lather. On drydown I’d say not a pure rose scent but a good clean scent with Rose. Maybe the goal of the overpowering scent on lather is so it will linger post-shave. I wonder if it’s just ultra concentrated Rose that I’m not used to or an additional ingredient.

Truefitt and Hill Rose performance is great but verdict is still out on the scent.

Sorry for some of the mistakes. I typed it on my phone and don’t seem to have the option to edit anymore.

Rhody

I'm a Lumberjack.
Great review. Im not attracted to rose but its one category i haven't bought yet. I like t&h and am considering the lime aftershave