What's new

Timeless help

I have a personal development goal I am working on, and when I achieve that goal as a reward for myself I have decided to splurge and get an artisan machined razor. I have had various things in my sights the last month or two, but I feel pretty firmly set on getting a Timeless in polished titanium.

What remains is for me to figure out which base plate to get. I currently use a DE89. I am wondering how the timeless blade gap options compare to my DE89. I also am interested in knowing how different the SB and Scalloped options are from each other. I realize timeless has their return policy but ideally I don't want to go through the return process if I can avoid it, so while I am willing to try something out, I am hoping to arrive at the right combination from the start.

My skin is definitely on the tender side, though my beard is fairly coarse. I shave every day generally, with the occasional day off. I don't like much blade feel, but I have no experience with anything more aggressive than an SLOC (which is ok on me but feels rougher than my DE89, so it's likely headed out the door). I have found that very sharp blades are the only way to go for me (Bic, Feather, Kai). Many other blades tend to tug me pretty bad in any razor I have tried. I'm not really interested in an OC.

So what are your suggestions? .68? .95? SB or scalloped?

Thanks in advance!

Graydog

Biblical Innards
I shave everyday and I really have hard time not using my Scalloped polished Titanium Timeless.95.
Most days I use 2 or 3 Razors and Titanium Timeless scalloped .95 has to be part of my daily routine.
For My Face it is just right, smooth and efficient and hardly any blade feel.
I shaved with a DE 98 a few years back and really don't remember how it was .
I also have a polished Titanium Timeless .68
SB and OC and I really like both of them but not as much as the .95 Scalloped.
00100lPORTRAIT_00100_BURST20191001084515642_COVER.jpg