What's new

Tabac question

Helo, I am relatively new to wet shaving with a DE razor. I am really wanting to try some new soaps. Seems like Tabacs get alot of good reviews. One question I have is how strong is the scent. I quit wearing cologne years ago because it gave me headaches. I can handle subtle warm scents but the really flowerly stuff is just too much for me. How would you describe Tabac shave soap. Thanks

Tabac to me is a hard to describe scent kind of like flowery but at same time a classic barber shop scent but at same time one that took a little getting used to, it is definitely mild and after rinsing at end of shave I believe it is totally faded.

Tabac has a flowery opening note that fades quickly. It's really noticable on the cologne and aftershave; less so with the soap, but it's still there. It's a great shaving soap, but you might want to avoid it if you really can't handle flowered scents.

Don

Hello thanks for the replies. I do enjoy the smelling the scents of all the soaps. I just cant handle a long lingering scent. After I rinse I would like at most a very subtle scent if anything.

In my opinion the soap doesn't have a long lingering scent but the aftershave does. It really smells like pipe tobacco, kind of sweet. When I first started to use it, one of my colleagues asked me if I had taken up smoking :) I hate cigarettes and don't smoke anything else but I still remember the smell of my grandfathers pipe :biggrin:

If you use only the soap (and ignore the cologne and aftershave products) then the scent wont last very long at all. As others have said, its kinda floral, but at the same

Base Notes said:
Top Notes
Pepper, Petitgrain, Citrus, Neroli .

Middle Notes
Lavender, Camomie, Geranium, Oak Moss .

Base Notes
Carnation, Sandalwood, Vetiver, Moschus, Ambergris.