What's new

Suggestion for easy to use fountain pen that is not leak prone

What is a good starter fountain pen that is relatively hassle free and not leak prone? The only FP I've ever used was an inexpensive store bought one 20 years ago that took little cartridges.

Something that I can use for daily business writing and not worry about making constant adjustments or throwing ink all over the place.

Inexpensive would be nice too, since I don't want to commit a ton of $ if I'm just starting out with FPs to see if I like them or not.

Is the Lamy Safari a good option?

If not, what would you suggest?

oc_in_fw

Fridays are Fishtastic!
The Safari would be great. I have the metal version (Al-Star). It is a no-fuss pen. Plus, with Lamys, you can swap nibs (cheap and easy) should the mood hit you. Order the converter with it- they cannot be eyedroppered due to the sight holes. You can go cartridge, but ink in bottles is much cheaper.

Are there any pros and cons with the plastic vs. metal version of the Lamy?

What about Lamy brand ink that comes in bottles?

The Al-Star costs more, is a hair thicker in the hand, has a translucent section (you can see the collector). There are subjective aesthetic differences between plastic and metal; you can decide if those matter, but I think the Al-Star just looks nicer. The parts that touch ink are the same.

oc_in_fw

Fridays are Fishtastic!
The Al-Star costs more, is a hair thicker in the hand, has a translucent section (you can see the collector). There are subjective aesthetic differences between plastic and metal; you can decide if those matter, but I think the Al-Star just looks nicer. The parts that touch ink are the same.
I thought the Safari had the sight holes, too. To cvac, the aluminum was just my preference. Like Josh says, the feed and nib are the same. The Lamy inks are nice, and their bottles are nicer. They have a built in inkwell for getting the last little bit out of the bottle.