What's new

Stretching vs Flattening

I heard a person who has been using a double edge safety razor for years and is considered an expert at its use teach that one flattens the region one intends to pass the razor over. He specifically distinguished between flattening and stretching.

Am wondering if there are any straight razor users who use the same technique of just flattening rather than stretching the region being shaved?

Also interested in hearing people's thoughts on the role played by stretching and/or flattening while shaving with the straight -- for example, does stretching help present the hair to the blade in a better way for being cut than just flattening?

(I am very new to the straight and am inclined to work on just a flattened surface.)

I think they go hand-in-hand. For example during at least one of the shave passes near the jawline I pull the skin up which both stretches and flattens the area which normally sits around the curve of the jawline to get a closer shave. Likewise a slight puff of air in the cheeks helps to flatten them but also stretches them a little.

But to answer your question I think flattening is more important that stretching. For example I find that the side burn area to be flat enough and does not require stretching to get a good shave. Stretching does help cut closer as I found that when aggressively stretching an area of my face above the jawline which is already relatively flat, that the resulting shave was too close (using a shavette).

Stretching the skin with flatten the area being stretched, the one is a result of the other.

Also a DE razor safety bar will flatten the skin before the blades edge, no stretching required.