What's new

Straight Shaver Interview - SliceOfLife

This Interview is long overdue, and fortionately Ian provided such a good interview, i don't feel too embarrassed. SliceOfLife is well known around here as a great guy, and this fantastic interview locks it in place.

Thank Ian!!

Who are you?
Ian Sammons. I'm a cook who spent a few years in college for computer engineering in my early twenties. I couldn't handle that much time at a desk and so I went back to cooking.

Where are you located?
Avondale, PA. I work about five miles outside North Philly.

How do you take your coffee?
Black and either at work or after a dinner out.

What happened that made you seek a better shave, or if the chicken came before the egg, how did you find B&B?
I never liked shaving. If I skipped a day disposables would clog and electrics would rip the hair out of my face instead of cutting it. For most of my life I used a sideburn/beard trimmer as my only "shaving" tool. As a cook I knew I could take metal and make it sharp, so a straight seemed like a no brainer to me. I've used safety razors here and there, but I'm so comfortable with a straight now that when I pick up a safety for a "quick" shave, it winds up taking longer and irritating my face because I try to force a shave like what I've gotten used to out of them.

What was it that held your interest?
I like to find the best of complex things. With a straight shave you've got soap, technique, brush, razor, edge (with countless sublevels). Finding "The Best" is so complicated and involving that most people don't even want to consider it. I'm compelled to. At least that's how I explain the hundreds of finishing stones and dozens of brushes and soaps I cycle through as fast as I can find time to use them.

If i remember from your posts, you started with DE's before switching to straights; What did you start with?