What's new

Stick w/ same cream for beginners?

Hello again,

Just venturing into the world of DE shaving. I have a razor and blade sampler pack on the way and I'm already using pretty much everything else I need.

My question is about creams/soaps: Should I stay w/ the same cream/soap for an extended period of time since I am just getting started or is it OK for a newbie to switch it up a couple times per week?

It seems like I've seen mixed reviews on this. On one hand I can see the point of keeping everything the same at the beginning so you can monitor the progress - keeping the variables constant I guess. OTOH, everyone seems to recommend trying different blades until you find the right one that works for you, so I thought it might work the same for creams.

My wife bought me an AOS starter kit for Christmas (which is what started all of this, so she can't complain about my impending AD's) and the cream is getting low, so I was wondering what to do to replace it. Buy 1 tub of something and use it exclusively for a while or try one of the sampler packs from Scotto and compare them.

I realize that all opinions come with "YMMV" - but I would still like to hear your thoughts.

thanks again
--Dusty

I think it depends if you are having trouble getting started with DE shaving or not. If you think you have a handle on things, go ahead and mix it up. If you start running into problems, take out the variables until you figure out what is going on.

Dennis

I think it depends if you are having trouble getting started with DE shaving or not. If you think you have a handle on things, go ahead and mix it up. If you start running into problems, take out the variables until you figure out what is going on.

Dennis

+1. Couldn't have written it better myself.