What's new

Stevey's Shave Journal: A N00b's Journey

Hi everybody! I'm pretty new to the world of traditional wet shaving and thought I'd chronicle my experiences here, allowing for those with a bit more experience to share some advice (or have a good laugh).

First, a bit of background. Up until about a month ago I exclusively used a cartridge multi-blade razor when I shaved. For the last almost 5 years I didn't shave at all. I had a closely trimmed beard that I used electric beard clippers to trim. Then the bald spot showed up....

A few months ago i randomly lost a patch of hair on the left side of my chin. My father credits it to stress. So, I decided I needed to start shaving again so I didn't look like a weirdo. I immediately went back to my Gillette Fusion with 5 blade cartridges. Readily available at any corner drug store, must be the best thing I can get right? After a lot of burn, bumps, and irritation I decided to find a better way. Enter Gonzomadness44...

A loyal member here, and my little sister's boyfriend, Gonzo has been a traditional wet shaver for a few years now. He knew that I had acquired my grandfather's 1961 Gillette Super Speed "Fatboy" when I was younger. I held on to it because I'm into old vintage stuff and I thought it looked cool. After only being able to find Rite Aid brand blades for it, and my wife giving me a tub of The Art Of Shaving sandalwood shaving cream, I decided to give it a go. I was not very good....