What's new

Royal Keen Kutter Straight Razor

Hi,

I'm new to B&B and straight razor shaving. I went to an antique mall last week and came across a booth of antique tools and straight razors. I found a Royal Keen Kutter made by E.C Simmons. It has on it, K 419. Based on my limited knowledge of blade and straight razor quality, I think it's in pretty good shape. There is some black spotting on the spine but everything else seems to be good. I tried to shave with it, there was sign at the booth that said most razors are shave ready, but it was pulling more than shaving. The edge looks seamless but there are a few tiny nicks in it. I'm wondering what is the best route to sharpen it?
Additionally, I'm looking into getting maintenance supplies such as a strop but I'm a bit confused as to what I will need. On eBay, I found leather strops made by B&B barber( I wondered if there's an association with badger and blade). For starting out would this strop be fine? Also, when opening and closing the blade it seems to be a bit stiff but smooth. Do I need to oil the connection between the blade and scales? It may not need it now but is this something that should be done regularly?

Thank you ahead of time for answering my questions.

Firstly welcome to the forum. That looks like a nice razor you've picked up. I doubt the razor is shave ready. If you can see small nicks in the blade then it definitely isn't. Find yourself a honemeister and get it properly honed so it is shave ready. There is a listing of them in the Wikil. As far as I'm aware there is no association between Badger and Blade and the B&B Barber items on ebay. The strop would be an OK starter strop though. You should always start with a cheap strop because you're going to take a few nicks out of it as a beginner. Once you
ve got the hang of it, you can then move onto a better quality strop.