What's new

Question about injectors

Disclaimer: I know I'm a newb, and shouldn't be buying all sorts of razors. I can't anyway, and I'm waiting for a PIF fatboy to arrive in any case. :001_smile

However, I'm fascinated by the injectors. I remember seeing the ads when I was younger, but I can't figure out how they work. What's the deal with these, that made them so special? How do they work? Inquiring, ignorant mind wants to know.:blush:

I am sure some well- informed answers will come soon. I just won an Injector on the bay, and remember it was the second razor I had as a kid. I liked it, but the loading was clumsy, and then the Trac II came out...

I am hoping the blades are good, and it is easier to use than a DE if I remember correctly.

Anyway, I will read what the experts here say about it.

VW

Injectors razors are a single edge razor. Quite a bit different than the DEs. The loading is very different, the injector has from 7-20 blades in it and has a key. You insert the key into the side of the razor then slide one of the blades into the razor (which pushes the old blade out, if installed). THe shave form them is great and very easy. The ease of shave is comparible to a modern cartridge razor. You dont have to fuss over the angle, just put it flat against your face and go. I resisted for a long time, and now I'm sorry I waited. They are some of my favorite shaves.

Disclaimer: I know I'm a newb, and shouldn't be buying all sorts of razors.

That's no reason to not buy razors! :laugh: Buy as many as you can and try them out. You could be missing out on your future favorite.

Thanks. I was trying to forestall the inevitable warnings that I see all the time! LOL

I love antiques, and will be collecting razors you can be sure. Wish I could buy that GEM collection you have listed...

One of these days I'll be able to spend money again. Rampant AD will ensue!

Last edited: