What's new

Problem with AOS soap

Imagine my deep disappointment when I broke open my latest AOS Sandalwood shaving soap, only to discover that it had been reformulated (again) into a noticeably poor performer.

The original vegan reformulation of this soap -back when P&G bought the company-was still an excellent product, though admittedly a slight step down from the original version.

However, IMO this latest iteration is sub-standard. It barely lathers, and even when you can coax it, it dissipates on the skin within a minute.

So either I’m not getting something (I’ve been using this historically excellent soap for ten years or so) or we have reached a new low. Anyone with a similar experience?

I’m going to try the AOS sandalwood cream instead. I love the scent so I don’t want to lose that at least!

Oh well…

Imagine my deep disappointment when I broke open my latest AOS Sandalwood shaving soap, only to discover that it had been reformulated (again) into a noticeably poor performer.

The original vegan reformulation of this soap -back when P&G bought the company-was still an excellent product, though admittedly a slight step down from the original version.

However, IMO this latest iteration is sub-standard. It barely lathers, and even when you can coax it, it dissipates on the skin within a minute.

So either I’m not getting something (I’ve been using this historically excellent soap for ten years or so) or we have reached a new low. Anyone with a similar experience?

I’m going to try the AOS sandalwood cream instead. I love the scent so I don’t want to lose that at least!

Oh well…

You might try to return it to the vendor and ask for the cream instead.
Some vendors would do this as a customer service matter.

Give P&G a call. I had an issue with their lavender soap about 3 years ago and about a few months later I gave P&G a call. They were quite nice. They sent me a refund and a discount if I wanted to try any of their other products.