What's new

Phase in the shaving journey

I've gone from daily shaver to this:
PXL_20240123_155145922.jpg

And shaving implements have gone from tools to decor...
PXL_20240123_155218463.jpg

Oh, I still shave. But not with the same engagement. The nice Edwin Jagger Mach 3 my wife got me for Christmas works admirably after my most beat up Fatboy mows down the rough.

Deliberation over what to use is non-existent.

I've shaved with a disposable.

It's a lot of things. Hybrid work schedule since 2020. Nearing retirement. A new coming of age experience. Old age. Time to settle into comfortable habits and explore new interests.

This is a process.

I get where you are coming from. After I first joined B&B I was all about always getting a great shave, making sure it was as close as possible. I discovered that I could do a three-pass shave every other day. Recently though, I have only been doing a one-pass shave.

It started over the summer (I'm a teacher, so don't need to be clean shaven all the time during the summer). I would do a one-pass shave every few days, just to mow down the scruff. I realized I liked how I looked after that single pass, as well as how quick and easy it is. So I kept doing it. Now I do a one-pass shave every other day, and it's a SAS. Good enough for me.

Recently though, I have only been doing a one-pass shave.

I can probably attribute my long and mostly discomfort-free, two score years of shaving to early adoption of not chasing BBS. I had the growth that required multiple passes for what I considered close. But rarely was close needed. Once a member here, I turned to technique and reached the ability to consistently reach DFS. A good two-pass shave technique works for a fair (good enough for the weekend ) one-pass shave. So I do a lot of those when time is a factor.

I celebrate the effortless DFS and always regret when I think that BBS is worth the effort.