What's new

Newbie Check in Today's Shave

Hello all. Today I shaved my 2-day course hair with a Henson Mild and a 7 o'clock yellow. Cremo Shave cream (2nd time using)

Shave was rough, not close at all in many spots even after 3 passes. minor irritation. Touched up to DFS with my newer Panasonic electric shaver.

Shaved #1 with Rockwell 6C plate 4 was similar. I will try a new blade next in Fatip Gentile as I work my way to my last 2 razors with this blade. Fatip and Henson Med. ++.

Anyone who has course facial hair have any input on this one?
Since Porasso Green is not slick enough I wonder if mixing some cremo with it until I use them out would be ok. The Cremo has no scent. So far my favorite creams are Porasso Red and TOBS sandalwood.

Look forward to hearing from you!

Welcome to the forum for western NC. Glad you decided to join in. There are many experienced, friendly people here and I am sure they can provide you with lots of ideas. Unfortunately, I have limited experience so I will refrain from giving unsound advice

Welcome aboard!

My main suggestions are:
1. Read through the WiKi and watch a few videos.
2. Focus developing your technique rather than ‘collecting’ hardware and software.
3. Stick with this!!

‘Traditional’ wet shaving requires a skill set! Stick with this and you will get the results you want!
:a29::a29:

Welcome aboard! I initially thought the Proraso Green was not very slick, but when using it recently. I loaded the brush more than previously. That definitely made a difference, and the resultant lather was pretty good. However, if you want to try something new, Body Shop Maca Root and Aloe shaving cream is awesome - makes a great lather, is very slick, and a little goes a long way. Tabac shaving cream has a great scent, makes good lather and is also relatively affordable. Nivea Sensitive shaving cream and Palmolive Original in a tube also make amazing lather, and are very affordable but dont hsve that great sandalwood scent.