What's new

New to The Nib Thanks to a Generous PIF!

Thanks to a very generous PIF by [MENTION=92596]Claudel Xerxes[/MENTION] I'm now a fountain pen convert. Included was a Pilot Metropolitan, a Platinum Preppy, a nice bottle of Namiki Black Fountain Pen Ink and a separate bag with 5 more ink samples! The generosity here at B&B is really something special - thank you so much Erik.

I'm not new to fountain pens, but it has been 30+ years since I held one. A quick search on YouTube helped me understand how these pens are loaded/filled with ink, however I'm still left with a few beginner questions if you don't mind....

After a pen is filled with ink is it ok to leave it lying flat, or must it always be propped up, tip up (I believe)? Are there different nibs available for the Metropolitan? Can someone also suggest a good pad for practicing and/or writing? I'm a teacher and use a smart screen + projector in my classroom so I use italic writing almost exclusively, although I can definitely see more cursive in my future, too. I did quickly order a Rhodia No.16 A5 6x8 Dot Pad that should arrive today as I wanted something to use on a short trip I'm going on.

I will add that I'm having a blast using the Preppy (I'm waiting to get the Rhodia pad before filling the Pilot) and as soon as I get a little more practice under my belt I'll post some things over in the Handwritten Thread - thank you.

$2016-05-25 at 00-00-00 (1).jpg

oc_in_fw

Fridays are Fishtastic!
I store my pens flat with no problems. Unless something is contacting the nib, the ink should stay in the feed and pen.

Storing your pen flat is fine. All my inked pens lie flat in a small pen case when not in use. Replacement nibs are not available separately for the Metropolitan. You might just was well get another pen with a different nib. They aren't very expensive anyhow. If you want an inexpensive pen with swapable nibs, check out the Lamy Safari.