What's new

New to pipe smoking, seeking recommendations

brandaves

With a great avatar comes great misidentification
Hello gentlemen. I'm new to pipe smoking and I was hoping for some advice. I'm looking to get a pipe suitable for learning but also one that isn't junk. I'd like to keep it in the $50 and under range as I'm still unsure the hobby is for me. I have been looking around a bit but I just don't have any idea what I'm looking at. Any advice or recommendations welcomed. I'm also going to need some intro tobacco suggestions as well. I was thinking aromatic was a good jumping off place but don't really know. Thank you all in advance.

Columbo

Mr. Codgers Neighborhood
Hello gentlemen. I'm new to pipe smoking and I was hoping for some advice. I'm looking to get a pipe suitable for learning but also one that isn't junk. I'd like to keep it in the $50 and under range as I'm still unsure the hobby is for me. I have been looking around a bit but I just don't have any idea what I'm looking at. Any advice or recommendations welcomed. I'm also going to need some intro tobacco suggestions as well. I was thinking aromatic was a good jumping off place but don't really know. Thank you all in advance.
Two things.

Start with a cob, or if you want to spend a little more, perhaps a Dr. Grabow (see my recent review of a $33 one in the ‘expensive v cheap pipe’ thread here). No need to invest any more than that to start.

Start with a pouch or two of a simple OTC burley. I prefer PA (Prince Albert), but Carter Hall and Sir Walter Raleigh are also good choices. These basic tobaccos will not only nicely break in your new pipe, they will light and burn easy, are cool and dry smoking, are very mild, and they will best teach you the basics of packing and ‘sipping’ on a pipe. It also will allow a fast bowl to a beginner, usually lasting under 30 minutes. Buy a pouch of two or three different burley brands. It is $5 or $10 well spent, and not much to invest.