What's new

New to Ebay - What is a Snipe

Silly question to some, but I am new to ebay in terms of bidding on things. What is a snipe? My thinking tels me that it is a service that bids on your behalf...if that is the case, what is a good service?

It's a service that bids at the last second so others don't have a chance to react. I don't use one because it's really unnecessary. The item should go to the highest bidder and the highest bidder gets it regardless of whether they're using a sniping program or not. So, all you have to do is enter the highest bid you're willing to pay.

The other reason I don't use one is because it's sneaky. The only advantage seems to be that no one knows you're bidding but, as I said, I think it's unnecessary. Plus, it's just one more place where I have to put personnel information (the sniping program has to know your eBay username and password) and another username and password I have to remember.

Simply put, it is waiting to bid until the last possible second, in hopes that your bid will be higher than all others put forth previously. In theory, it keeps bid prices down, as someone is not going to come along and incrementally bid up your max. It avoids bidding wars. And yes, there are services like JustSnipe that do it for you (justsnipe gives you 5 free snipes per week but the interface is very clunky).

There is a ton of info out there on auction sniping, starting with Wikipedia.

a snipe program saves money, (yes sneaky but fair). If your bidding on an item it seems someone will keep eeking up until they outbid you, then you have to outbid them and so forth. The only winer there is the seller.

If you don't like the idea of "another service" download "ebay countdown" from ebay. This enables you to act as your own "snipe" service making an instant bid in the last seconds of a listing.