What's new

Need for antiseptic after shaving (alum block, splash, etc)?

Not a newbie at this point as I’ve been shaving with a DE razor for 12 years, but I have never given this much thought. I’ve been perusing the forums a bit more recently and have noticed people talking about alum blocks which has gotten me down this trail.

Is there a need for something with antiseptic properties after shaving? Some people use splashe or other aftershaves that have alcohol, which will do it. Others seem to use alum blocks. I’ve only ever used two different balms, neither of which have alcohol nor mention being antiseptic on the bottles. I’ve gotten my share of nicks, cuts, and weepers and am still standing. For bigger cuts, I have rubbed a little hand soap in there and rinsed to clean it out. I generally just dab little nicks with a tissue and just splash a little water and weepers and go on with my day.

But perhaps I should be doing more.

I use an alum block because I enjoy the "tightening" feeling after a shave. It also provides helpful feedback if I have not concentrated on technique sufficiently. Once I wash it off, I apply an alcohol based splash. An then, after cleaning up and stropping, before I leave the bathroom I add moisturiser. It's ritual more than science, but it makes me feel good.

Not a newbie at this point as I’ve been shaving with a DE razor for 12 years, but I have never given this much thought. I’ve been perusing the forums a bit more recently and have noticed people talking about alum blocks which has gotten me down this trail.