What's new

Neck irritation and rediscovering shave angle

I'm new to wet shaving (5mo.) and will never go back to a cartridge. Still pretty new at this, but generally do really well with my shaves.
*But* I've always had an issue with the neck area right below the jaw line. That 1" little strip, always irritation. Tried everything I could from preshave, aftershaves, different blades and soaps, mapped hair growth, no against the grain etc. A good friend gave me two razors he hasn't used in 20yrs (flair tip, and a G2000) and thought ah-ha must be the razor. Nope, same issue.

So after reading a bit I revisited the angle of my blade. Held the razor 90deg to my face and slowly added angle while letting the razor slide until it started to cut. So much shallower than I have been using! Seems I may have been "digging in a bit" at too much an angle causing irritation. Results now with proper angle... Three shaves and no neck irritation what so ever!

It it may not help everyone but adjusting my blade angle has done wonders for my face!

don

I'm new to wet shaving (5mo.) and will never go back to a cartridge. Still pretty new at this, but generally do really well with my shaves.
*But* I've always had an issue with the neck area right below the jaw line. That 1" little strip, always irritation. Tried everything I could from preshave, aftershaves, different blades and soaps, mapped hair growth, no against the grain etc. A good friend gave me two razors he hasn't used in 20yrs (flair tip, and a G2000) and thought ah-ha must be the razor. Nope, same issue.

So after reading a bit I revisited the angle of my blade. Held the razor 90deg to my face and slowly added angle while letting the razor slide until it started to cut. So much shallower than I have been using! Seems I may have been "digging in a bit" at too much an angle causing irritation. Results now with proper angle... Three shaves and no neck irritation what so ever!