What's new

Multiple blade razors and shave cream

I am new to wet shaving and am curious if the higher end shave creams will work well with a multi blade razor. I am currently using a Gillette ProGlide razor.

Yes. High end creams improve the performance of any razor and the enjoyment of your shave.

Welcome aboard. Let us know if you have additional questions.

A brush and a good cream or a good shaving Soap are just a good start for any razor.

Your skin will soon confirm!

For the records I started feeling better like I write before, starting with a Proraso and an Omega brush and my face was like a Renaissance

I use the same multi-blade system you do and high quality cream and soap work great!

Feel free to come by the Modern Shaving Systems sub forum and make yourself at home!

Before I got my Safety razor, I was using shave soap with a similar cartridge amd I got better shaves. i guess it was a combination of the soap and the brush.

Welcome to the club, Bob. Glad to have you aboard. A brush and a good soap/cream can beat a can any day, with any razor--except maybe an electric.

$comp_PB082748_0.jpg

A good soap or cream will "boost" th eshave with a multi-blade cartridge a lot. Myself do it every day. The sharpness of the blades will stay longer, too.

Greetings

Andreas

I just did my 1st brush and creme shave today and I'm using a Mach 3.
It gave me much better results than using Edge, Barbasol, or Harry's Shave Cream.
I used a Parker Silver Tip brush, Proraso creme and a Captian's Choice Lather Bowl.
FYI the Barbasol gave a better shave than the others.

Thanks to all of you who have responded. Great advice. I am ready to dive in. I've ordered a pure badger brush and proraso cream. Can't wait to dive in and explore. This is such a great board to read and share/ gain information. A lot of great ideas out there. Thanks again

When I was in my 20's I regularly used shaving soap and a brush with my Gillette Sensor. I consistently got good results.