What's new

Milk in shaving soaps

Let me preface this by saying that I am a newbie to wet shaving so forgive my ignorance.

What is the deal with milk in shaving soaps? Donkey milk, sheep milk, why not cow milk? Why are milks considered a super weapon for great post shave feel in shaving soaps? Why don't other soap companies follow suit and start including milk in their soaps? Is donkey milk a prohibitively expensive ingredient that can't easily be added to other soaps without jacking up the price? I don't understand.

I don't get it either, but it's popular. The milk will add some sugars, some fats, and some protein, and is supposed to make the soap more skin friendly. Me, I don't think it does much, but if it makes other people happy, it's all good.

DoctorShavegood

"A Boy Named Sue"
Cleopatra took baths in donkey milk to revitalize her beauty.

It is also reported Napoleon’s sister, Pauline Bonaparte, used *** milk for her skin’s health care as well.

According to recent scientific studies, because of its components like minerals, vitamins, essential fatty acids, a bioactive enzyme, donkey milk is indeed beneficial for the skin.

Lol, I doubt donkey milk or anything else is gonna beautify this old mug!

All I need from shaving soap is slickness.

Lol, I doubt donkey milk or anything else is gonna beautify this old mug!

All I need from shaving soap is slickness.

I value post-shave over slickness. I find that these sorts of ingredients keep my skin moisturized, so that I don't feel irritated or dried out. I'm not sure that animal milks themselves contribute, but I find that the soaps that include them often are full of many other great things that keep my skin happy.

jackgoldman123

Boring and predictable
Something very very good about one donkey milk soap I have. The difference is noticeable to me. The glide and protection is superb and post shave feel exquisite. The soap is no longer made, I have 7 sticks.