What's new

Merkur Progress...what a glorious razor!!

I've been using my progress since 2012...it was love at first shave, right at the point where I didn't like any other razor and was about to go back to carts.

Then in mid-16, I got the Rockwell 6S and loved it!! It's the only other razor that remained in my den and I use it often. (Since then, I also added the variant as it's basically a progress clone but it's gone back to Parker for replacement due to an issue.)

In Aug-17, I was going away from home for 6+ months and decided to take the Rockwell as I don't like traveling with the merkur due to its sensitive moving parts.

Fast forward to today where I once again used the process after 7 long months and oh, what a glorious shave!!

The cutting angle of the progress is truly perfection! No other razor leaves my skin feeling as smooth as the progress. It's so gentle and intuitive.

The Rockwell I still love but I think the progress is my all time favorite razor and I doubt anything would replace it...except maybe another progress!!

Just got back my Mergress from Eric, Bull Goose. If you like the Progress, suggest you take a look at the Mergress conversion, well worth the money IMHO, an even better razor with the added weight.

Just got back my Mergress from Eric, Bull Goose. If you like the Progress, suggest you take a look at the Mergress conversion, well worth the money IMHO, an even better razor with the added weight.

I personally like the stock Progress knob.

It's a German thing. Look at older Porsche, Mercedes and BMW dashboards.

proxy.php

proxy.php

Last edited:
I've been using my progress since 2012...it was love at first shave, right at the point where I didn't like any other razor and was about to go back to carts.