What's new

Masterbuilt electric smoker fix

This is a sort of heads up to others, because I would normally have just carried this out to the curb when it stopped working. Basically, I got good product support from Masterbuilt and was quickly, easily, and cheaply able to get my conked out smoker going again.

I have a 30 inch Masterbuilt electric dorm-fridge type smoker model 20070910 that is about 3.5 years old. When I tried to turn it on recently, it would immediately trip the GFP on my outside plug. (It had tripped in the recent past after the unit was on for some time, which did not make the unit unusable. But the immediate trip did make it unusable.)

I just going to take it out for the refuse people to pick up--it was not all that expensive and I had gotten good use of it. I think these things ostensibly have a 90-day warranty! But I ran some Google searches and found that folks felt they were getting great product support from Masterbuilt for this and similar problems for units way out of warranty. So I called Mb, got someone on the line pretty much right away and they diagnosed a bad heater element--even though the element looked fine to me. They sent me a new one for around $14, as I recall, I assume plus some shipping that I neglected to ask the cost of. It came quickly with good instructions, and was fairly easy to install. Unit works great now. A very satisfactory experience.