What's new

Load LESS Soap?Say it ain't so.

I would like to get a few opinions on this idea. This mostly applies to face lathering.

I cook for a living and I found myself comparing the addition of water to shave soap to many of the emulsified sauces I make.

Emulsified sauces are funny (like the perfect Lather) they blend some type of fat with some type of base liquid and air to produce a distinctly different end product. Eggs, Butter and Acid simply stirred together don't look like much but add heat, proper ratios and technique you have the classic Hollandaise. Much like shaving soaps the key is the ratio of components.
If you add too much water to shave soap it breaks just like a sauce.

Getting to the point. If you have too much soap loaded into your brush you can't possibly introduce enough water to host the dynamics of emulsion within the limited space of the knot. It is like putting 30 egg yolks into a tiny stainless bowl and trying to blend in the 90 or so ounces of butter needed to make a proper sauce.

So I tried doing a quick 5 sec load of BM Cheshire instead of my normal 20. I found that it was much easier to build the perfect lather (I face lather). The Lather was much slicker and seemed to really come together. It's like it had room to develop and do it's thing.

This may already be common knowledge as I am fairly new to this (2 or so years) but I thought it might be helpful or at least worth a discussion.

I am interested in any comments or observations.

Thank you,

Gio

i agree.
More isn't more. whether its product or water. Its about getting the ratio right.

Now this is the disadvantage to using many different creams/soaps.....they don't all have the same magic ratio. Sometimes I think id do best if I forced myself to stay with 1 combination for at least a month at a time.

I would like to get a few opinions on this idea. This mostly applies to face lathering.