What's new

Length of whiskers and ease of shaving?

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
I read on B&B that some have more difficulty cutting longer whiskers when shaving. I'm talking here about multiple days' growth.

Ignoring a DE razor clogging up, how are longer whiskers harder to shave? Surely the whiskers don't change at skin level in diameter or material composition as they grow longer.

I'm only a mug engineer. Please explain.

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
I find the opposite. Some of my best shaves are with 4 or 5 days of growth. Super smooth and super close.
I am not writing about end result and satisfaction. What I am referring to is the perceived added force needed to cut the whiskers.

AimlessWanderer

Remember to forget me!
I find that longer whiskers wick up moisture easier, and are therefore softened more in the prep. More surface area. All things being equal, I would expect a DE blade to last me noticeably longer if I shaved every two to three days, than if I shaved daily.

I shaved four days worth of growth with a Gillette contract tech this past Monday. I didn’t notice needing to use any extra pressure than when it’s only been 24 hours between shaves. I also didn’t have any issues with the razor clogging either

BradWorld

Dances with Wolfs
I am not writing about end result and satisfaction. What I am referring to is the perceived added force needed to cut the whiskers.