What's new

Lather Eating Brush Phenomenon

Greetings!

I am still pretty new to DE shaving, but I have been doing pretty well I think. I have three brushes, my first was an "Escali" Pure Badger I bought from Amazon (made by Tweezerman I think). Then after a lot of reading here, I bought a Semogue 830. Then, I recently picked up a synthetic Omega Hi Brush for travel as I spent 10 days in FL. Before I left for my trip, I was getting great results from my Semogue 830. It seemed to be breaking in nicely. Before my trip, I cleaned it following the directions in the SHAVEWIKI, which included the use of a little vinegar before the final rinse. I then let it dry out while I practiced my last few shaves at home before the trip with the Omega, which was different, but not bad. Well, the Omega was very good for the trip, glad I got it. I was excited to get home to my Semogue though. Also, a Georgetown Pottery G20 had arrived in my absence. So, my first shave at home I predictably used the G20 per the standard recommended instructions and my 830. The lather was nice and warm, but did not last for 4 passes. I thought maybe the water was too hot, so I modified my prep a little. The next shave I didn't refill with hot water after my shower - the lather still disappeared. I was again using the 830. I was perplexed and was wondering if this scuttle business wasn't all it was cracked up to be. So today I didn't shave but set up an experiment. I soaked my 830 for about 8 minutes, figuring that was about how long my showers are. I squeezed out the brush and gave it a light shake to get off the excess water as usual and loaded the brush with about 200 strokes. This time, still thinking heat was my enemy, I not only didn't refill the G20, I didn't sit it in a sink full of hot water during the "shower." Lather disappeared faster than ever - I couldn't even get a lather for my first pass. I then grabbed the Omega, wet it and whipped up a great lather in the scuttle. So it seems I have ide