What's new

Japanese straight razor tips please

Looking to purchase vintage Japanese straight razor. I'm thinking eBay to purchase one shave ready. NOS. I'm new to this so what should I look for? There is lots of choices. Looking to spend $400 range. A lot of them look good, although do not know what to choose. As well as should I be making purchase elsewhere? I am leaning more towards vintage though. I still need to learn how to do honing and stropping still. Still need to get those two tools for shaving!

For 400$ you can get a really nice Japanese razor. Prices vary. You pay for the name, size etc. Iwasaki will run you high. Tanifuji is an excellent choice for a better price. A lot of other names and overall, in my opinion, Japanese razors are the best :)
Shave armory sells nice razors and he hones. His prices are rather steep on some items but hey it's a free market.
Purchase wise you can always check the BST, I picked 2 NOS ones shipped from Japan last week.

Anything from shave armory will be amazing. He puts the best edge I have used on his blades. And when he says shave ready it is shave ready. You will love any of his blades.
That's good to here. He seems to have a few I'm looking at to keep in mind, ranging from $190 to $300. Good selection. I will probably deal with him when I make my purchase. He uses Japanese tools honing and strop etc on his Japanese straights. I researched on the price of these Japanese tools, and wow I can't afford that, the Japanese hone and strop. I may have to sharpen with cheaper sharpening tools within my budget though. Maybe that's why he does a great job, not to mention obviously his tecnique. Thanks for letting me know!