What's new

Italic nib questions

I'm a nib newbie, and I'm experimenting with different pens/nibs.

So far, I found that I really like the broad italic nib on my Pilot 78g. It seems to write a bit finer liner as compared to the Lamy 1.1m nib on my Safari, and is a bit smoother than the fine italic nibs on the Sheaffer No Nonsense and Osmiroid pens I have.

My questions are:

1. Can any nib be ground to an italic? If so, will starting with a broad, medium, or fine nib result in a different line when ground to an italic nib?
  2. Are the Lamy 1.x nibs true italics, or is that just describing the nib width?
  3. Any recommendations for good pens with stock italic nibs? I like the Pilot 78g, but I would like to find a pen with an ink window, and either a piston or vacuum filler.
  4. Anything else I need to know about italic nibs?
Background:
I am a print only kind of guy, so I haven't ventured down the cursive italic path. I assume those are more for people that are focusing on cursive writing (i.e., doing loopy stuff like with Spencerian cursive).

Thanks!

Doc4

Stumpy in cold weather
Staff member
Three pens to check out are:

Pilot Plumix ... using the same italic nib as the Pilot 78g (so you know what you are getting there). The pen has an ... um ... "interesting" design, but you can see inside and it works with a converter.

Sticking with Pilot for a moment, the "Parallel", which comes with a 1.5mm nib (so about 50% more nib width than you currently have at about 1mm) and has even wider options. This one works with a converter, and can also be eyedroppered for a big fill (those italic nibs are thirsty!)