What's new

Is My Brand New Razor Already Rusting?

Hello everyone! I hope I'm posting in the right place. I've been lurking for a bit and decided now's the best time to join since I'm having a bit of a problem.

Last week I received a Merkur 33C (brand new, from a reputable store). Today after drying off the inside of the handle with a Q-Tip, I pulled it out to find the cotton was stained orange. I grabbed a flashlight and the bottom of the ring (I'll call it) inside had some browning. There's also black spots which--from my understanding--would be patina. But what about the rest? I'm drying the razor throughly, store it in a dry place, etc. etc.

I'm relatively new to wet shaving, so I hope I'm just ignorant and there's another explanation. If it's important; water here is moderately hard.

Thanks!

lasta

Blade Biter
I would say more likely the blade rusting than the razor.

Yellow could also be soap residues.

Merkurs are chrome plated, very stable.

Your options would be to contact the reputable store and let them know your findings.
Ask the reputable store to do an exchange or refund.
Drop some mineral oil or blade lube/oil in the hole and clean it out with Q-tip.
Oil it again, put it back together, and continue using it.

Those are my thoughts, not expert opinion or advice.

Welcome, too!

I would say more likely the blade rusting than the razor.

Yellow could also be soap residues.

Merkurs are chrome plated, very stable.
Thanks for the reply! The blade I was using seemed fine. The thought of soap residue crossed my mind, but I leaned toward rust since it's not that colour.

Your options would be to contact the reputable store and let them know your findings.
Drop some mineral oil or blade lube/oil in the hole and clean it out with Q-tip.

Welcome, too!
Yeah, I'm definitely going to shoot them an e-mail. I ended up cleaning and lubing the razor after my discovery.

Thanks for the reply and the welcome!

Dave himself

Wee Words of Wisdom