What's new

Is a Shavette That Much Worse?

I've never used a true str8 before, only shavettes by Dovo and Magic, both of which I like.

I can adeptly with these and have experienced no problems, but members at another forum were telling me DE blades are too thin and so on for str8 shaving.

What does the shavette lack?

I find that they lack the 'feeling' of a straight, though im not sure just what that is. I think weight, balance and the vibrations of cutting hair etc make it not as responsive.

Why not give real straights a try?

Just don't feel like dealing with stropping and honing; I have thousands of DEs and the Magic shavette, which I prefer 100x to the Dovo, runs for under 10 bucks.

It works for me, but I'm wondering if I'm missing something monumental only a true straight can provide...

I must say I get an ENORMOUS amount of feedback with these faux-straights - feedback I don't get with DEs or carts. Gradual beard reduction in successive passes, or the razor will say stop - via a skip or a cut.

I must say I get an ENORMOUS amount of feedback with these faux-straights - feedback I don't get with DEs or carts. Gradual beard reduction in successive passes, or the razor will say stop - via a skip or a cut.

Do what does well for you.

A real straight will not have those same problems with the proper technique and hone yada yada. If you like the fake straight then stick with it. If you want a little something more, then go with the real deal. No one is going to criticize you here at B&B (unlike some other unmentioned forums), for enjoying your shave the way you like. Do what does well for you, and enjoy it.

stropping is actually pretty good - i wouldnt be surprised if you grew to enjoy it. same for honing, and if youre really disinterested in it, you can get a pasted strop and just send out your razors occasionally to a honemeister.