What's new

I wonder why?

Hello, I am new here at B&B. I am also new to Str8 shaving (1 month to be exact). Here is my question. I bought a Col Conk/DOVO Str8, strop, 4000,8000 waterstone and all the necessary pre and post shave products.

Everything was going fairly well...until 2 days ago I purchased a second razor. The EXACT same one Col Conk/DOVO. Same everything execpt the way it shaves! It is fantastic, boarderline easy compared to the other razor. The difference is very significant. Why? I strop the exact same..hone the same way..pre and post shave the same way, yet the 2nd razor shaves so much better. It has to be sharper I would assume but both blades are treated the same way and both can easily cut thru a free hanging hair.:eek:

Is this common for razors to differ this much even when they are "the exact same"? If it is then I have just learned that it is very important to get the right one!:001_huh:

Thanks in advance for any imput. :biggrin:

Greetings,

Were your razors honed prior to using them? New razors are not shave ready out of the box. If not, you may want to have the first professionally honed.

It's my belief that no two razors are identical. Honemeisters with years of experience are capable of obtaining near identical results but the razors themselves are a constantly changing medium with each having a unique shaving personality.

The great opportunity that has been afforded to you is a razor that has revealed a higher level of shaving performance. This is generally the result of how it has been prepared. A poorly honed razor is still capable of splitting hairs - that is the starting point. Pay close attention as to how the hair reacts when the blade touches it. You want the hair to pop when it barely touches the edge. It should do this at both edges and the middle of the blade from both sides.