What's new

How I'm doing, so far

Hey all. I've been enjoying wet shaving as a hobby for almost five years now, but mostly with DEs and my beloved vintage Schick injector. I'd tried SR shaving a few years ago, and while I loved the IDEA, I quickly became overwhelmed and gave up. But now that I'm back to sporting a mustache rather than a beard, I'm enjoying (almost) full-face shaves again, and the call of the straight razor has come again.

I originally bought a refurbed starter razor from whippeddog, and later a new Ralf Aust honed by the vendor, but I've always feared I messed up the edge in my beginner stropping (I definitely put a little slice in that strop at one point). Worse, I somehow got rid of the strop in my last move, so I decided to get back into this with two viable razors but no strop and no certainty that either razor doesn't need honing.

While I've waited for a strop to arrive (and treated myself to a particularly gorgeous Portland Razor custom 6/8 Spanish point because, well, it's so pretty), I went back to the Feather SS I'd picked up back then to work on my basic technique. So that's where I am right now: about three or four shaves in with the Feather, steadily making progress.

The first revelation, I think, was what everyone really meant by a slick, thinner lather. I'd gotten away with thicker lathers for safety razor shaving, but until I actually focused on wet, slathery slickness, I was still getting a tugging feeling from the razor. That much is more dialed in now, for sure.

The second big help with the Feather SS was using a shallower angle than I'd initially thought. I'm still learning the balance between that shallower approach and just the right pressure to engage the rounded lip, but in general it's starting to make sense.