What's new

Home Improvement

Well a backsplash is tricky when making outlet cutouts and also when trying to get nice tight finished edges, kudos if the job was satisfactory.
There a couple of places where there are small mistakes. You have to look for them closely but we were pretty happy overall. My wife and I have never done it before so I am sure we will do better next time if there is a next time. We used a double sided sticky backing to attach to the walls and then attach the tiles instead of grouting the wall and then putting the tiles up. Of course we had to grout the tiles after they were in place. It cost about $450 and that is including a cheap $80 wet tile saw and a $30 glass and stone cutting blade. This picture was taken immediately after. If I was home I would take a new picture showing it after we restored the cabinets and replaced the cabinet hardware from brass/gold to brushed nickel that is a better match to the new stainless appliances we had put in.

BACK SPLASH.jpg

Wow!
You set all those little tiles.
That must have been an enormous chore!
Looks great, though.
Thanks! Those tiles are set on a 12"x12" (or something close) mesh so they are already spaced. It would have been maddening to set all of those tiles one by one. Once they are set onto the wall you put grout over the top to fill in the spaces. I was surprised to find that nowadays you can pick different color grout and you can match the caulk used at the bottom between the countertop and tile to the grout.

So now that this thread has been moved to the barbershop, let us see some photos of your home improvement projects be it inside or outside the home. I could always use some landscaping ideas. Our garden is small and only going so so at the moment so you probably wont see any garden photos from me.

luvmysuper

My elbows leak
Staff member
I've done a lot of projects around the house, be happy to share some here.